odelia reviews/discusses: champion by marie lu

Champion
by Marie Lu
3/3 Legend
YA Dystopia
★★★★★ [4.75]
Goodreads

(from my rating system: i loved it. honestly. it’s just that there are some confusing stuff. but hey, i still adored it.)

“Sometimes, the sun sets earlier. Days don’t last forever, you know. But I’ll fight as hard as I can. I can promise you that.”

How do I start this?

This novel is more fantastic, amazing, incredible than I ever expected.

Let me tell you that this book brought tears to my eyes. A lot of tears. Flooded my room with them, actually.

When something you love ends, whether a TV show or a book, do you feel that empty void in your chest? Something missing? Yes, this is tad bit dramatic, but it’s true! Ridiculous but true.

I truly loved this book. The writing – especially the action scenes – just blew me away. The characters fit snugly in my heart, never wanting to leave. After finishing Champion, I constantly thought about Day and June, wondering where they are now. I can’t believe these set of fictional characters managed to make me love them so much.

What I learned most? You’ve got to walk in the light.

*climbs a cliff* *does a dramatic pose* *looks to the sunset* *lifts chin* So, I guess this is the end, then. *looks at the camera* Or maybe the beginning. *explosion*

DISCUSSION:
You thought you’d seen the end of me? Well, think again.
After 5 books without a discussion, I’m back again!

But how could I not have a discussion? With that heartbreaking, tear gland functioning, satisfying ending but at the same time not satisfying ending book? You gonna expect some discussion.

This is spoilery, btw. This has spoilers. Please go away if you haven’t read the book. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Here are some of my crackpot theories before I read the book:

  • Day and June will be together.
  •  Eden will die.
  • Anden will die.
  • Colonies will play a big part.
  • Tess will die OR
  • Tess will end up with Baxter

Okay, let’s get back to the book. I’m going to talk about the 3 scenes that I loved/hated the most:

1.) Thomas telling June what actually happened. WTF, Thomas?! Why would you kill someone who effing loves you?! Thomas is sick in his mind! Oh wait, does he even have one? Is Thomas actually loyal, or just incapable of love? LATTER PART THANKS.

2.) June goes to Antarctica.So Antarctica’s ice apparently has melted off and years later, is the richest country ever. Who expected that? I was amazed and baffled at the same time when June saw the point system thing. Where if you did a good thing, your rank would increase and if you do a bad thing, your rank would decrease. But I agreed with June. Who decides what’s good and bad?

3.) Day almost dies moment. Who cried? Who bawled and was in need of tissues but didn’t get up because she was too busy reading? Who prayed that Day wouldn’t die? (Thank God!)

oops i said i would only do 3 scenes oops oops oops oops

4.) That ending. If I caused my room to flood with my tears, in this part, I caused my room to become a mini Pacific Ocean. Look, I didn’t understand why wouldn’t June just tell Day who she was? And when Day and Eden were walking, and Day asks June if they met before, why wouldn’t June just answer him?!

But you know what made me cry the most? The part wherein my sister looked at me in alarm?

“Then Day reaches out and touches my hand with his. He encloses it in a handshake. And just like that, I am linked with him again, I feel the pulse of our bond and his- tory and love through our hands, like a wave of magic, the return of a long-lost friend. Of something meant to be. The feeling brings tears to my eyes. Perhaps we can take a step forward together.

“Hi,” he says. “I’m Daniel.”
“Hi,” I reply. “I’m June.”

Let’s review the crackpot theories again, shall we?

  • Day and June will be together. (IN TIME)
  • Eden will die.
  • Anden will die.
  • Colonies will play a big part.
  • Tess will die OR
  • Tess will end up with Baxter

I’m such a pro in guessing. Not.

goodreads // bloglovin // tumblr

3 thoughts on “odelia reviews/discusses: champion by marie lu

  1. joysofbookworms March 29, 2015 / 3:24 AM

    I love your review! I agree, Champion was amazing and beautiful and totally cry-worthy

Share Your Thoughts!

