odelia reviews: where she went by gayle forman

Where She Went
by Gayle Forman
2/2 If I Stay
YA Contemporary
★★ (2.28)
Goodreads

(from my rating system: i’m sorry if i offended you but i just really hate this book.)

Hello misleading title and even more misleading synopsis!

“It’s been three years since the devastating accident… three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.”

Oh yeah, hiiiiii typical YA cover. Glad to meet you. (not)

Oh I completely forgot you, unnecessary sequel!

First things first, no, this was not as good as If I Stay. (And I didn’t even love If I Stay.)

Second things second (?), this is Adam’s POV. And I did not know that. That beginning sounds like Mia. It screams Mia. The synopsis doesn’t say anything about it being Adam’s POV. Aaaaand let’s not mention the cover which is Mia. How was I supposed to know that this is Adam’s POV?

“I find the need to remind myself of the temporariness of a day, to reassure myself that I got through yesterday, I’ll get through today.”

Sounds like a depressed person who – from reading the first book – will be Mia. Sounds like a coma patient who woke up even if her whole family died. Sounds like a girl who has been through tough times. What it doesn’t sound like is a guy who is heartbroken celebrity.

Okay maybe I’m being too harsh. (I am.) Let me give a plus point:

One of my favorite things about reading books is getting a different perspective. I start learning and understanding what a character feels like without actually being in their shoes. To me, that is incredible. So, it was definitely fascinating to read about a celebrity’s POV. To be honest, I did not consider thinking how hard a famous person’s life is. I know it might be way easier than living in poverty but when I read this book, I learned that a celebrity’s life isn’t just some fancy wardrobes and red carpets. How would you feel if you’re just walking down the street, just wanting to buy ice cream sandwiches and suddenly you hear fangirls screaming? People surround you and started taking pictures without your permission. And then everybody’s talking all at once, asking you some very personal questions. How would you feel if you live like that every single day? I loved the fact that I get to experience a superstar’s life instead of reading another book about a normal person’s point of view. 

Let’s get back to the part that irritated me.

Why wouldn’t Mia just tell Adam the reason she went away? And the thing that made me dislike this book so much: If you woke up for this person, this person you really love, why would you push him away? Why would you leave him without a trace? Why?

I read some reviews and found this particular one that has all the things I want to say. It was written by Kat and I quote:

I just can’t get over the fact that if Mia had just said what she was feeling, none of this shit would have happened.”

Another thing Kat pointed out in her review: Yes, Mia is very strange too but how about Adam?

I look at her there in the shadows of the shut down city, her hair falling onto her face and I can see her trying to figure out if I’ve lost it. And I have to fight the urge to take her by the shoulders and slam her against the shuttered building until we feel the vibrations ringing through both of us. Because I suddenly want to hear her bones rattle. I want to feel the softness of her flesh give, to hear her gasp as my hip bone jams into her. I want to yank her head back until her neck is exposed. I want to rip my hands through her hair until her breath is labored. I want to make her cry and then lick up the tears. And then I want to take my mouth to hers, to devour her alive, to transmit all the things she can’t understand

But all in all, I haven’t lost my parents. I’ve heard that “You won’t know grief unless you experienced it.” And I haven’t. So I can’t get too mad at Mia but pushing people away? that’s not a good solution

Share Your Thoughts!

