The Percy Jackson series | Thoughts

So, I just reread the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. Instead of writing a review about every single book, I want to enumerate on WHY I LOVE PERCY JACKSON. 

But first, let’s start with the basics.

Odelia, I don’t know what Percy Jackson is!
Percy Jackson and the Olympians is basically a 5 book series about this kid named Percy (what a surprise) who learns that Greek gods and all that stuff exists. He also learns that he’s a demigod or a half-blood. Half-god, half-human.

So, what is “Heroes of Olympus”, then?
It’s supposed to be a spin-off of PJO. But I wouldn’t really say it’s a spin-off. More like continuation. It has more characters and has some YA elements. But really, HoO is much, much better than PJO which is saying something because PJO is really good.

Okay, okay, I know that already. But what should I read first?
You don’t really have to read PJO first, it obviously won’t spoil HoO. BUT, if you do read HoO first and decide to read PJO, then you will be spoiled. Really. I learned from experience! (I read Lost Hero first. WHy)

But this series is middle grade. I’m not in that genre anymore. It might not fit with me.
EVERYONE thinks like that at first! But NO! It will fit! It is middle grade BUT it fits even with adults! There are so many people 20+ who read and loved this series!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians – 5 stars, 99%
Heroes of Olympus – 5 stars, 100%

Back to the main topic: WHY I LOVE PJ.

1.) HILARIOUS. FUNNY. AMUSING. HUMOROUS. WITTY. Basically, ALL of the adjectives of funny. I guarantee that you will laugh in each book. But if you don’t laugh a lot, then you probably smile. Or chuckle. Or snort. And if you did not laugh then … Moving on.

2.) The plot. I love the plot. Maybe it’s not as woah as other books but if you really think about it, the plot is really intriguing. I don’t know about you but I think Greek gods are pretty interesting.

3.) Smooth. I love how Rick combines our world with the mythological one so smoothly.

4.) The characters. I absolutely, totally, 100%, without a shadow of doubt love the characters. (Percy, Annabeth, Leo, Hazel etc.) They are so kind, loving, caring, brave, amazing, majestic, *insert positive adjectives here*. Rick Riordan makes beautiful characters. They warm your heart and you just want to hug them.

5.) The world. The world is astounding. It’s well built and if Rick decides to write a whole new guide about the Mythology world, then I would definitely read that. (Actually, I would love to read all the books of Rick Riordan.)

6.) I can’t put it down. There is so much action and it’s so fast paced, it’s literally so hard to put down. I keep putting off so many things because I want to read it. Even if I already read it. Yes, it’s that gripping.

And that’s why I love PJ! It’s definitely not all but that’s the only thing I can think at this moment.

Thank you for reading and um, bye!

One thought on “The Percy Jackson series | Thoughts

Share Your Thoughts!

