Odelia Reviews/Discusses: The Light Between the Oceans

13158800Book: The Light Between The Oceans by M.L. Stedman
Genre: Adult Fiction, Historical Fiction
Rating: (4.58)
Recommend?: YES YES YES
Series or Stand-alone: Stand-alone
Favorite Line: You only have to forgive once. To resent, you have to do it all day, everyday.”

Add on Goodreads

THIS BOOK. I JUST. *deep breathing*
AND YES, I DID CRY.

NON-SPOILER THOUGHTS:

First of, the cover. That cover is so freaking beautiful, right?!

The writing style is so beautiful. At first , it was a little bit boring but –for me- but when I continued reading, it wasn’t that boring at all! It was actually quite good! I bookmarked sooooo many pages because  there were so many quotes and I just [sentence was cut off due to the most beautiful quotes ever and Odelia needed a moment.]

*deep breathing* Okay, I got this.

I don’t really read a lot of adult books but I decided to give this a try because 1.) my sister keeps pushing me to read it 2.) A lot of booktubers really liked this book and 3.) I already knew it was going to be a good book, just from the title.

This book was not predictable at all. It was so unexpected and just woah. Beware of it’s unpredictable-ness.

The characters were just so lovely. I mean, not everyone but Izzy, Tom, Lucy, Ralph, Bluey and others! Adult books, as my sister said, focus on Character Development more than the plot that is why a lot of adult books are slow. I don’t know if that’s true but maybe that’s why I love these characters.

The beginning was, I admit very tedious. I almost gave up on the book. DON’T EVER GIVE UP ON THIS BOOK. I TELL YOU, IT WILL BECOME AWESOME ASDFGHJKL  [That advice was brought to you by EVERYONE.]

 This is a slow book and I have a hard time reading slow books (just check my currently-reading) and I was a bit worried in this book. If my sister didn’t shout at me to read it while I was scrolling through the interwebs, I wouldn’t have finished this amazing book.

 

SPOILER THOUGHTS:


He meets Izzy and they were just the cutest couple ever! Izzy and Tom where just so cute, I love them! Their relationship is so sweet and I was a little bummed out when we didn’t get to see their wedding.

When Lucy washed up ashore and Izzy wanted to keep her, I was still on Tom’s side. They should’ve reported it and I know, I know, Izzy lost 3 babies but it just felt bad to do it. I understand both of their sides, though.

When Violet was doing a flash back thing on how she and Bill lost Alfie and Hugh, I’m going to admit it, I got teary-eyed.

I  was not expecting, at all  that Hannah was the one from the boat scene. DID NOT EXPECT THAT AT ALL.

I felt really sorry for Hannah. She just wanted her baby back and now her baby was not her baby (figuratively) and I just felt really sorry for her. Of course I felt sorry for everyone, but still!

The political part was very boring, I think I did not understand one word of it.

When they arrested tom, I just wanted to throw TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD at them and shout “KILLING A MOCKINGBIRD IS A SIN, FOOLS.

I thought that Hannah will give Lucy to Izzy and Tom, BUT I WAS SO WRONG. That, again, was very unexpected and NOT PREDICTABLE.

HOW COULD HILDA DIE? Ralph will be so sad!

HOW IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD CAN IZZY DIE? HOW? WHY? WHY M.L. WHY? AND LUCY! LUCY WAS AN ADULT NOW! AND SHE DIDN’T EVEN REMEMBER TOM AND IZZY THAT WELL! SHE DIDN’T KNOW/REMEMBER HOW HARD THEY WORKED FOR HER! I JUST I CAN’T I CAN’T HUDOHNWUSKSAHBASHUJKHL

*deep breathing*

ALSO WHY ARE THE WIVES DYING? IZZY, HILDA? WHY? JUST UGHHH I CANT HANDLE ALL OF THIS EMOTIONS! BOOKS, WHY YOU DO THIS TO ME?

*deep breathing*

 

Phew, that was a loooooong review! Anyway, I posted my review on my Goodreads too. I will also make a blog post (coming soon) about all the quotes plus pictures! Yay!

Anyways, thanks for reading and um, bye!

 

2 thoughts on “Odelia Reviews/Discusses: The Light Between the Oceans

Share Your Thoughts!

